Workout Motivation … Anything Goes!

I get up and workout at 5a every morning during the week and workout either one or both weekend days…so basically I keep a standing date with my treadmill six to seven days a week.  It is a date I never get sick of.  Some may think I am crazy but there is something about getting up and sweating every day that just seems to cleanse the mind.

That all being said, let’s get down to the three real truths… I work out so I can eat whatever I want, easily slide into my favorite clothes and watch all my junk reality television.  It is a win – win for all parties involved: I sweat, I keep myself healthy, I feel great, my clothes fit and I can help the networks get ratings for their reality tv shows.

My point to this is that we all need motivation to get our tushes moving.  I have many motivations that I tap into:
– Reminding myself how great I feel after I work out and have had a good sweat (gross, but true)
– Reminding myself how I ate a whole Culver’s fish fry with french fries, cheese curds plus tapped into my extra gluttonous side and made some room for custard the day before…
– Reminding myself that there was a new episode of The Biggest Loser, Teen Mom, Project Runway, Survivor, (insert reality show here) on the night before and waiting for me on my DVR.

It doesn’t matter what gets you moving, the point is that you moved and did something good for yourself.  I know it is hard for people with many obligations and packed schedules to make the time to work out… but in the end you aren’t only making yourself healthier physically, you are making yourself healthier mentally and that benefits everyone around you.

What gets you moving and excited to work out?  How do you make it fit into your schedule?

5 thoughts on “Workout Motivation … Anything Goes!

  1. August Hoeltzel says:

    This one hit close to home for me.. I was just thinking about motivation! Wasnt really working out was a motivation around the house needed 🙂 Thanks for pushing me today!

    • Audra says:

      Happy to! And you are totally right, motivation doesn’t only apply to working out, it applies to everything. Organizing closets, cleaning the house, doing laundry…you name it! Hard to get moving though when the couch beckons! Just have to find that carrot to get you moving.

  2. nicole herbert says:

    Wow, the fish fry, fries, curds, Anddddd custard. Impressive! How many miles did you have to run after that one! Love this blog dear! It truely is fun to read. My motivation is my son. I want him to see us being active and working out. Also eating healthy and sensible snacking. Trying to help the childhood obesity right here at our house! Keep up the good work and Happy New Year!

  3. Audra says:

    Haha, yeah, the post Culver’s workout is always a longer one…and there is no better motivation than remembering all that fried food moving through your arteries to get you moving!

    What a great motivation! Kids are our future… what a great carrot to keep you moving!

  4. […] step. Ultimately, my goal is to get in the habit of working out in the morning like my counterpart, Audi. I guess I just need to find the right inspiration OR purchase a treadmill and DVR for the […]

Leave a Reply

