Which Dwarf Are You Going To Be Today?

I'll be Happy... with a side of Sleepy.

First off, since we are still getting to know one another… I think I should tell you that I am a bit of a Disney fanatic (which I am sure there will be another blog post about in the future).  I tell you this because you will likely see additional references in my future posts to Disney, so consider yourself warned!

Now onto why we are all here…

On New Year’s Eve I was having breakfast with my mom and step dad.  As I was waiting for them to arrive, I overheard an interaction in the booth next to us.  The basic jist of it was this…

In the booth there was a gentleman and a woman, the waitress was serving them their orders.  She came out with sausage links.  The gentleman said he ordered sausage patties.  The waitress said, “We don’t have sausage patties.”  He replied (in a very harsh tone), “You SAID sausage patties [referring to when she listed off the side meat options].”  And he continued to lay into this waitress over sausage patties vs sausage links.  (Note: We had this same waitress and she was by no means a bad or incompetent waitress.)

It is New Year’s Eve on a beautiful Saturday morning, you woke up, you are breathing and you are laying into this young waitress over sausage patties vs sausage links?  Really?!  Granted, I don’t know what is going on in this man’s life – he could have just received a bad diagnosis about his health, could have received bad news about a family member – but this waitress doesn’t know what is going on in his life either.  She just knows that she is being laid into about what form of sausage she is serving.

I was sitting there watching this interaction and I felt truly bad for this man.  I couldn’t imagine being that grumpy and getting all wrapped about something as minor as sausage.

We all have days that aren’t the best, but we also need to remember that total strangers don’t know what is going on in our lives, our heads or our hearts.  They just think you are cranky, mean or socially inept.

So, when you wake up, ask yourself, “which dwarf are you going to be today?”  You can be Happy (my first choice), Bashful, Sleepy, Dopey, Grumpy… Just remember that whichever one you choose, no one knows but you.  Strangers, customers, wait staff or whomever you come across in your daily life don’t know you or your back story.  They only know how you treat them.

It goes back to the golden rule we all learn in kindergarten, “Treat people how you want to be treated.”  And if they treat you like a big pile of dog poo then use my other go-to rule, “Kill them with kindness.”

I remember I received a forwarded email once and I can’t remember the exact quote, but it was something along the lines of “life is 10% what happens to us and 90% our reaction to it.”

All in all this whole situation was a reminder to me:
• Don’t get wrapped up in the small stuff (i.e. freaking sausage links)
• Remember that people only know what they see and interact with (i.e. even if your world is imploding, don’t be a jerk)

One thought on “Which Dwarf Are You Going To Be Today?

  1. Ellen says:

    Love it! I remember a driver who thought I was going to take her parking space making an obsene gesture at me. I had received some bad news about a friend that day. All I could think of was: “Lady, I wish I had your life. If only that’s all I had to worry about today.” I felt sorry for her!

Leave a Reply

